Controversy erupts after French Open player drills fan with ball

An ugly incident marred an opening-round match at the French Open.

Terence Atmane was taking on Sebastian Ofner on Court 12 in a contest that went the full five-set distance.

But it was a disturbing moment in the fourth set with Atmane taking his anger out after hitting a return off Ofner’s serve long that caught fans’ attention.

Atmane unleashed and smashed a forehand shot that went into the crowd with the ball hitting a spectator in the stands.

Ofner immediately called for his opponent to be disqualified as a result of the incident as the umpire and supervisor came together to discuss the moment.

Play was brought to a halt for close to 15 minutes as the umpire and supervisor spoke with the fan before ultimately handing Atmane a warning and allowing the match to continue.

The incident quickly went viral on social media with fans left confused as to how Atmane wasn’t disqualified.

Terence Atmane talks with a French Open official after hitting fan with the ball. EuroSport/X

Journalist Jose Morgado wrote: “On court 12, Atmane hit a spectator with a ball in frustration. Ofner wanted disqualification, umpire and supervisor disagree. Surprised with this decision.”

Fox Sports US reporter Chris Fallica wrote: “Really hope Ofner wins because this was garbage from Atmane. Should have been DQ.”

“For me, it was a bit surprising, because if you do something like that on a small court, you have to be punished, you know?” Ofner said after the match which he won, 3-6, 4-6, 7-6 (2), 6-2, 7-5.

“Because it’s not like you hit the ball normally. It was full power. The ball was so fast. Straight in the crowd. There were people disqualified for less.”

The fan was unhurt after an initial scare. EuroSport/X

Ofner was asked what explanation he was given by the tournament official who went to the court to look into what happened.

“The referee said, ‘Oh, yeah, I was talking with the lady. The lady said at the beginning it was hurting but now it’s fine, and everything was OK. She saw the ball coming. So it’s not enough for disqualification.’ I think if he would see how it was, maybe he would decide different,” Ofner said.

“A little bit more unlucky and it’s going directly in the face, and then something can happen (like) a broken nose or whatever.”

Terence Atmane was not disqualified for the incident. EuroSport/X

At last year’s French Open, a women’s doubles pairing was sensationally disqualified when a player accidentally lobbed a ball that hit a ballkid and their opponents lobbied for them to be defaulted.

Ofner will now wait for his second-round opponent.

You May Also Like

NYPD boosts synagogue security ahead of Passover as anti-Jewish crimes ‘jump off the page’: ‘No one should feel afraid to worship’

The NYPD is beefing up security at synagogues ahead of Passover, citing…

UK to host Women’s World Cup for first time ever in 2035 as rivals drop out to leave England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales as sole bidders

LISTEN NOW: It’s All Kicking Off! Why it makes more sense for…

Virtue Signaling or Fence Sitting? Florida Mayor Refuses to Sign — or Veto — Immigration Bill

Here’s a head-scratcher for you. (Well, probably not really since she’s…

MMA event cancelled over fears of gangland hit on UFC fighter

An MMA event in Sydney later this month has been called off…